X

Welcome! Register



Username is case sensitive
(ex.: EchoTiger0000)



Did you forget your password?

Cancel

Forgot Your Password?


Cancel

Forgot your Password?
You need to answer this question to get it.


Cancel

Forgot Your Password?



Cancel

Arena
0/0
Sign Out

Register to make your avatar




?You’ll need to remember your answer to get your password if you forget it.

Register! Cancel

Congratulations! Your Registration is Complete!

Username and password provided below.

Please print the page for your records.

Username
Password
Secret Question
Secret Answer

Print my Information
Create your Avatar

?What’s a code?Unique codes are available in Kaijudo boosters and competitive decks. They unlock awesome creatures for Kaijudo Online game play as well as items for your duelist. Ok!


Frequently Asked Questions

Make your choice

Game Play

Got a question about the TCG rules or a Kaijudo Product on the site? Look here first for frequently asked questions (FAQ) and answers about products.

What are the rules to build a Kaijudo deck?

A legal Kaijudo deck has 40 cards or more. You can have up to 3 copies of any single card in your deck. Most decks include lots of creatures to make sure you can break your opponent’s shields.

How do I know what civilization a card is from?

The easiest way is to look at the color of the card frame:

Color Civilization
Yellow Light
Blue Water
Purple Darkness
Red Fire
Green Nature
What do the stars on the right side of the cards mean?

The number of stars tells you the rarity of the card. The more stars a card has, the more rare it is:

Number of Stars Rarity
1 Common
2 Uncommon
3 Rare
4 Very Rare
5 Super Rare
Some cards have italicized story text. Does this text affect the game at all?

No, it’s just for fun. This text gives you a glimpse inside the world of Kaijudo or the adventures of the TV show.

On the bottom of the card, there is a line of text that looks like this: 12/43 | 1TVR | illus. Naoki Saito. What does that mean?

The number to the left is the collector number and the number/letter combination to the right of it is the set code. For example, “12/43” is a collector number, and “1TVR” is a set code. Here are the details:

Collector Number — This number helps you organize and collect a complete set of Kaijudo cards. The number to the left of the slash “/” is the unique number of that card within the set. Sets are organized by civilization, and then alphabetically. The number to the right of the slash is the number of cards in that set. For example, card 12/43 is the twelfth card in a 43-card set. However, super rare cards have their own collector number system. They have an “S” before the number. For example, card S1/S2 is the first of two super rares in a set.

Set Code — Each set code is a number followed by some letters. The number tells you which set it is in the history of Kaijudo releases. This number will continue to go up as new sets are released. The letters are an abbreviation of the name of the set. For example, the set code 1TVR means the card is from the very first Kaijudo release, the Tatsurion vs. Razorkinder™ battle decks set.

The final information is the illustration credit, which tells you who created the card’s art. The collector number, set code, and illustration credit have no effect on game play.

I can’t wait to start creating my own deck! Where can I get more cards?

Look for cards wherever trading card games are sold. Check our store locator to find the store closest to you. You can also play a digital version of the game right here on our site!

What happens at the beginning of the game?

First, each player shuffles his or her deck. Then, each player deals out 5 cards without looking at them. These are the players’ shields. Then, each player draws 5 cards and looks at them. These cards are the starting hands. Then, decide who plays first.

How do we decide who plays first?

You can use any method to randomly pick a player (roll dice, flip a coin, play rock-paper-scissors, etc.). That player can choose to play first or second. Remember that the player who goes first doesn’t draw a card at the beginning of the first turn.

What is your hand?

At the beginning of each of your turns, you draw a card. The only exception is the very first turn of the game. The player who plays first doesn’t draw a card at the beginning of that turn. Some spells and abilities may also tell you to draw cards.

How do I draw more cards?

At the beginning of each of your turns, you draw a card. The only exception is the very first turn of the game. The player who plays first doesn’t draw a card at the beginning of that turn. Some spells and abilities may also tell you to draw cards.

Can my opponent see the cards in my hand?

No. You should keep your hand secret. However, some spells and abilities may tell you to look at your opponent’s hand.

Is there a maximum hand size?

No. You can have any number of cards in your hand at any time.

What happens if my deck has no cards left?

When you run out of cards in your deck, you lose the game.

Do I have to charge mana on each of my turns?

No, but on most turns you’ll want to charge mana if you can. When you have more cards in your mana zone, you can tap them to summon creatures and cast spells of higher level.

What does “tapping” cards in my mana zone mean?

To tap a card is to turn it sideways. This shows that it’s been used for the turn. At the beginning of each of your turns, you’ll untap your cards by straightening them out again. This means they’re ready to be tapped again.

Can creatures in my mana zone attack or use their abilities?

No. Ignore all the text on cards in your mana zone. They can be tapped to summon creatures and cast spells, but they have no other abilities.

Say I cast a spell that instructs me to draw a card. Can I charge that card into my mana zone that turn?

No. You only charge mana at the beginning of your turn—after you untap your tapped cards and draw a card. If you choose to not charge at that time, you can’t charge later in the turn.

At the beginning of my turn, I have no cards in my hand. Can I charge mana this turn?

Yes. You charge mana after drawing a card, so you can always charge the card you draw on your turn.

Cards like Bronze-Arm Tribe instruct me to put a card into my mana zone. Is this the same as charging mana?

The result is the same: any card in your mana zone can be tapped to summon creatures and cast spells, no matter how it got into your mana zone. You can always put a card into your mana zone if a creature’s ability or a spell tells you to, even if you charged mana that turn. Cards like Bronze-Arm Tribe are a good way to get more cards into your mana zone, allowing you to summon more powerful creatures and cast awesome spells faster.

What is the discard pile?

The discard pile usually sits near your deck. Your creatures in the battle zone go to the discard pile when they are banished. Cards in your hand go to your discard pile if they are discarded. Spells you cast are put there after you do what they say. Other effects can also put cards into your discard pile from other places, like your shield zone or your mana zone.

Can my opponent look at the cards in my discard pile?

Yes. The cards in your discard pile are kept face up, and either player may look at them at any time.

What happens when a spell or a creature’s ability tells me to do something that’s against the game rules?

In cases like that, always do what the card says. Cards can override the game rules.

What’s the difference between a creature and a spell?

When you summon a creature, it is put into the battle zone, where it fights for you turn after turn, unless it loses a battle and is banished or leaves the battle zone for some other reason. When you cast a spell, you do what it says and then put it into your discard pile. Creatures and spells both work the same way in the mana zone, however. You can tap them when summoning a creature or casting a spell. When a card is in your mana zone, ignore all of its text.

There’s a number and a symbol in each card’s upper left corner. What are those?

The number is the card’s level. This tells you how many cards in your mana zone you have to tap to cast the spell or summon the creature. The symbol just below that is a symbol from that card’s civilization. Cards with the “Shield Blast” ability have an additional symbol under the civilization symbol to make them easier to spot when breaking a shield.

Creatures have a big number in the lower left corner. What’s that number?

That’s the creature’s power. When two creatures battle, the one with the higher power wins.

The power of some creatures has a + sign. What does it mean?

If you see a + sign in a creature’s power, it means the creature has an ability that can give it more power. It’s an easy way for you and your opponent to remember that the creature’s actual power may be higher than what’s printed on the card.

How do I know what cards are in my mana zone and what cards are in the battle zone?

At the beginning of the game, you placed 5 cards face down as your shields. When you charge mana by putting a card into your mana zone, place it behind your shields (closer to you). When you put a creature into the battle zone, put it in front of your shields (closer to your opponent).

Let’s say I have a level 5 Water spell in my hand. To cast it, what do I do?

First, make sure you can cast spells from the Water civilization. To do this, you must have at least one card from that civilization in your mana zone. Next, you must tap cards in your mana zone equal to the spell’s level. So, in this case, you must tap 5 cards in your mana zone. The cards you tap can be from any civilization. So, for a level 5 Water spell, if you had one Water card and 5 Fire cards in your mana zone, you could tap all 5 Fire cards and cast the spell.

If a spell says to choose a “target enemy creature,” can I still cast that spell if my opponent has no creatures?

Yes. You can always cast a spell if you have enough cards in your mana zone, even if you can’t choose its target. Sometimes you may want to do this because the spell has additional effects.

If a spell I cast says to destroy one of my opponent’s creatures, can I choose a creature in his or her mana zone?

No. Any card than mentions “creatures” means only creatures in the battle zone. If a card allows you to choose a creature or spell in a mana zone, it will clearly say so.

If my opponent has Infernus the Awakened on their side of the field, and I have Steamtank Kryon or Essence Elf on the field, am I able to play a creature that has 4000 power, since the game will see the creature as having more than 4000 power when it ente

The simple answer in this scenario is no. The reason being that the creature would have to be on the battle field to receive the bonus from either Steamtank Kryon or Essence Elf, and Infernus the Awakened would not allow you to place the 4000-level creature on the battle field. When creatures enter the battle zone, they do get bonuses as they enter. When it’s in your hand to summon, a 4000 power creature is 4000 power, so it can’t be cast. When it enters the battle zone it gets any applicable bonuses.

How do I know if a creature can attack?

A creature can’t attack on the turn it’s put into the battle zone unless it has an ability that says it can. A creature also can’t attack if it has an ability like “Guard” that says it can’t attack. Other abilities may restrict what a creature can attack.

Do I have to tap cards in my mana zone in order to attack with a creature?

No. You tap cards in your mana zone only when you summon the creature.

Do I have to attack with all of my creatures each turn?

No. When you start an attack, you choose which of your creatures is attacking and also what is being attacked—either your opponent or one of your opponent’s tapped creatures.

If I attack with a creature and later in the turn it becomes untapped, can I attack with it again?

Yes. A creature can attack multiple times in a turn if you find a way to untap that creature during your turn.

What is “Blocker?”

“Blocker” is an ability that lets a creature change what an attacking creature is attacking. If you tap a creature that has “Blocker,” the attacking creature will change its attack and attack that blocking creature instead. You must tap the creature that has “Blocker” to block, so only an untapped creature can block.

Can any creature block an attacking creature?

No. Only untapped creatures that have the “Blocker” ability can block.

When do I decide to use a creature that has “Blocker?”

When your opponent starts an attack, he or she chooses which creature will attack, chooses what that creature will attack (you or one of your tapped creatures), and taps the attacking creature. After this happens, you can tap one of your creatures that has “Blocker” to block the attack if you want to. You don’t have to block, even if you have an untapped creature that has “Blocker.”

My opponent’s attacking creature has an ability that does something “whenever this creature attacks.” Does that ability happen before I choose to block?

Yes. These abilities are called “triggered abilities,” because another event (in this case, attacking) triggers the ability. Triggered abilities happen immediately after the event that triggered them.

Let’s say I have a creature that can attack untapped creatures (like Little Hissy). If it attacks an untapped creature that has “Blocker,” can my opponent use that creature’s “Blocker” ability to have it block for itself?

No. A creature can’t block for itself because blocking changes what’s being attacked.

Can evolution creatures attack on the turn they enter the battle zone?

es. Evolution creatures ignore the rule that says a creature can’t attack on the turn it enters the battle zone.

What are shields?

Shields are face-down cards that stay in your shield zone. A shield is “broken” when a creature attacks you and isn’t blocked. A broken shield is put into your hand. You start the game with 5 shields. If your opponent has no shields, and you attack him or her with a creature that isn’t blocked, you win the game!

Can I look at my shields or my opponent’s shields?

Not unless a spell or creature’s ability tells you to.

What is “Shield Blast?”

Normally, when one of your shields is broken, you put the card into your hand. However, some exciting spells have an ability called “Shield Blast.” When a card with “Shield Blast” is in your shield zone and that shield gets broken, you can cast it immediately instead of putting it into your hand.

When you cast a spell using its “Shield Blast” ability, you don’t tap any cards in your mana zone, no matter what level that spell is. Normally when you cast a spell, you have to make sure you have a card in your mana zone that matches that spell’s civilization. However, you don’t have to do this when casting a spell using “Shield Blast.” For example, if your opponent’s creature breaks one of your shields, and that shield is a level 4 Darkness spell, you can immediately cast it even if you have only three tapped Fire cards in your mana zone!

When my creature breaks one of my opponent’s shields, who chooses which shield it breaks?

You do.

Can I put more cards into my shield zone?

Not unless a spell or creature’s ability tells you to.

What are “Double Breaker” and “Triple Breaker?”

Normally when one of your creatures attacks your opponent and isn’t blocked, it breaks one shield. A creature with “Double Breaker” breaks 2 shields instead, and a creature with “Triple Breaker” breaks 3 shields instead! All shields are broken at the same time.

Say my opponent attacks me with a creature that has “Double Breaker” or “Triple Breaker.” In two (or all three) of those shields is a card with “Shield Blast.” What happens?

If you ever have two or more shields break at the same time, you can use the “Shield Blast” abilities of all of them. When you break the shields, reveal each of them that has “Shield Blast” that you want to cast. Then, cast them one at a time in any order, doing what each one says and putting it into the discard pile before casting the next one.

What is an evolution creature?

Evolution creatures are a new kind of card introduced in the Evo Fury set. This highly advanced form of creature evolves from your other creatures in the battle zone. Evolution creatures are more powerful than other creatures of the same level.

How do I summon an evolution creature?

Look for the evolution creature’s “Evolution” ability. This ability tells you what type of creature you must have in the battle zone in order to summon the evolution creature. If you have a creature of the appropriate type, you can summon the evolution creature like you would any other creature: First, check to see that you’ve unlocked the evolution creature’s civilization (by having a card from that civilization in your mana zone). Then, tap a number of cards in your mana zone equal to the evolution creature’s level.

Put the evolution creature into the battle zone on top of the creature it evolves from. An evolution creature is a single creature, even though it will have one or more cards under it. Only the evolution creature on top and its name, abilities, and power will matter.

If the evolution creature evolved from a tapped creature, it will enter the battle zone tapped. Evolution creatures ignore the rule that says a creature can’t attack on the turn it’s put into the battle zone. Other things may stop it from attacking however, such as it entering the battle zone tapped.

Can I summon an evolution creature by evolving onto another evolution creature?

Yes, as long as the evolution creature in the battle zone matches the type of creature described in the new creature’s “Evolution” ability.

What happens if a card tells me to put an evolution creature into the battle zone, but I don’t have the right type of creature to put it on?

In that case, you can’t put the evolution creature into the battle zone. It will just stay where it was before.

Can evolution creatures be affected by spells and creature abilities that affect creatures?

Yes. Evolution creatures are still creatures. They can do everything creatures can do, such as attack, and they are affected by anything that affects creatures, such as spells like Terror Pit. Some spells and abilities will specifically say that they affect only “non-evolution creatures.”

Say my opponent summons the creature Evo Fury Tatsurion, which has the ability “Dragon Wings — When this creature enters the battle zone, target enemy creature can’t attack or block until the start of your next turn.” The “Dragon Wings” ability targets one of my creatures. Then, during my next turn, I summon an evolution creature and evolve it onto that creature. Can my new evolution creature attack?

Yes. Any effects that applied to the original creature don’t carry over to an evolution creature that evolves from it. The evolution creature is a different creature than the original one.

What happens when an evolution creature leaves the battle zone?

When an evolution creature leaves the battle zone, each card underneath goes with it and they separate. For example, if an evolution creature is put into your mana zone, you’ll get two (or more) cards in your mana zone. If an evolution creature is put on the top or bottom of your deck, you’ll choose the order that the cards are put there.

What is a battle?

A battle is a contest between two creatures. There is a battle whenever a creature attacks another creature or when a creature attacks and is blocked by another creature.

How do I determine who wins a battle? What happens to the loser?

The creature with the highest power wins the battle. The losing creature is banished (put into its owner’s discard pile).

Who wins the battle if both creatures have the same power?

In that case, both creatures lose the battle and are banished. Neither creature wins.

If my creature attacks and wins a battle, are any of my opponent’s shields broken?

No. If a battle happens, no shields will be broken.

How do I win the game?

You win the game when you attack your opponent with a creature that isn’t blocked when he or she has no shields left. You can also win the game when your opponent has no cards left in his or her deck.

My opponent has one shield left. I attack with a creature that has “Double Breaker” and my opponent doesn’t block. Do I win the game?

Well, not yet, but your opponent will have no shields! To win the game, you must attack your opponent with a creature that isn’t blocked while he or she has no shields.

Is there a complete rulebook that I can look at?

If you can't find the answer to your rules questions in the FAQ, you can download the complete rules document.

Kaijudo Deck Registration document

You can download the Kaijudo Deck Registration document.